If at first you don't succeed, try, try again. Then quit. There's no point in being a damn fool about it ~ W. C. Fields

It’s interesting how the thought of entering a writing competition can fill you with horror, pain and excitement all at the same time. While a large part of your brain is telling you, ‘This is crap, I’ll never win, there are much better writers than me entering and they’ll probably have 100s of entries.’ The other, smaller, hidden-in-the-wardrobe part says, ‘I have just as much as chance as anyone.’ So with the wardrobe part fully functioning today, I decided to actually enter something. The deadline is 15th November, its a 1000 flash (my favourite) and I thought, ‘I’ve got weeks left to think of something.’ Well, being the procrastinator that I am, I realised I didn’t really have time to think of something new (except for 100-worders and nano stuff for twitter) because my head is fully engaged in plotting and outlining for my upcoming first stab at the wonder that is NaNoWriMo. So I started looking through my back catalogue of unpublished, un-entered wonders… Actually, someone else has to take credit for me doing the story-trawling (not to be confused with TROLLING, cos that’s just horrible) – the lovely person who is setting up my brand new website… you know who you are.

Anyway, I found something I’d written in January 2010 for a website comp. It didn’t win, didn’t even get a mention (I already took that defeat on the chin, no need to bring it up again) but I still like the story, in fact I had doubts that I’d actually written it as it was actually quite good… So, with a bit of re-reading and a few minor edits, it was ready, and off it has flown in cyberspace to the desk of the writers-online folks from Writing magazine (https://www.writers-online.co.uk/). It’s called ‘Baskets and Buckets and Life’. I hope they like it, but if they don’t, I’m not going to sweat it, I’m going to keep going with the thought that all the best authors got rejected more times than we’ve all had hot dinners and they still didn’t give up.

Leave a Comment

