If you write one story, it may be bad; if you write a hundred, you have the odds in your favor ~ Edgar Rice Burroughs

Well just after I wrote my update last night, I got a nice surprise. I won this weeks Boxing with Pencils 100-word flash contest – whoohoo! You can read it here:

http://boxingwithpencils.com/poppy-cock-action-winner/

I’ve recently discovered this site and I like it for one main reason. It’s fun. These guys are not about the grammar and the apostrophe’s (see what I did there?) and the trawling through the thesaurus; they’re about good stories… and when you think about it, that’s the most important thing, right? (Thanks, GG – spot on).

I actually had quite a prolific night last night. As well as my submission to Writers Magazine, I re-worked another mothballed piece and sent it to Guttermag. I suspect they might be too good for me, but nothing ventured nothing gained and all that.

Tonight I discovered another new writing site too (thanks, Twitter…). You can find it here:

http://5minutefiction.co.uk/

I emailed the editor, Gail, asking about submission guidelines. They don’t have any. They are fledgling and enthusiastic. Another nice site! So anyway, I whipped something together thanks to a prompt from the inimitable Dr Phil. I don’t know what made me suddenly google  ‘characteristics of serial killers’, but Dr Phil’s handy 14 point list was unintentionally hilarious and led to the very fast production of a flash piece called ‘Careers Advice’. I’d also like to thank my careers advisor at school for the last line. Somehow I wouldn’t be surprised if he ticked more than a few boxes on Dr Phil’s list.

Disclaimer: No frogs were harmed during the writing of this story.

Leave a Comment

