Review: The Fall – Claire McGowan

One of the best things that has happened to me since I joined twitter is that I’ve uncovered a whole lot of new crime authors with books on the brink of release – the perfect time to sneak in there and be a part of the journey from the beginning. Not only that, by chatting to these authors on twitter, I’ve realised what a lovely bunch they are too, and despite my annoyance at how brilliant their new books are, it has has encouraged me to carry on writing my own 🙂

The first of these emerging talents for 2012 is Claire McGowan whose debut novel The Fall has just been released on Amazon and is launched in ‘real’ shops later this week.

The book is written from three different viewpoints – Charlotte, the soon-to-be-married posh PR girl who’s life changes dramatically after one seemingly random night out, Keisha – the mixed-up mixed-race girl with her own set of problems, and DC Hegarty – the detective hoping for his first big break and a promotion.  The author’s strength lies in the way she brings each of the main characters to life yet still leaves room for a very convincing set of extras – I particularly liked the descriptions of Charlotte’s mother and stepfather whose unintentionally hilarious actions reminded me a lot of my grandparents 🙂

As far as plot goes – the story is fast-paced, intriguing and highly convincing; it feels so real you can imagine yourself in the thick of it. I could easily have read this in one sitting if I’d had the time, as it was, it kept me turning the pages well into the night. The style of writing is no-nonsense, observational and witty and I can honestly say I haven’t enjoyed a book as much in ages. I can’t wait for her next one.

I absolutely 100% recommend this book – so if you don’t like it, I’d be really interested to know why!

2 thoughts on “Review: The Fall – Claire McGowan

Leave a Comment

