The Lucky 7

Thanks to Keith B Walters, I’ve finally been tagged in the Lucky 7… God, I was starting to feel like the last one to get picked for the rounders team or something (to be fair, I wasn’t that good at rounders anyway…)

Here is the challenge as presented to me:

The Rules

  • Go to page 7 or 77 in your current manuscript,
  • Go to line 7,
  • Post on your blog the next 7 lines, or sentences, as they are – no cheating!
  • Tag 7 other authors to do the same.

Ok – well this was a useful exercise for me as I realised that I write lots of short sentences. They make sense in the bigger picture, mixed in with longer sentences, but they’re a bit lacking on their own… plus, I have two current *long* works-in-progress, so I decided to post 7 sentences from each. Two for the price of one, eh? Also note that these are working titles and remember they are first drafts, not edited, so probably not very good! 🙂

The first one is from the first draft of ALONE

‘Right. So he goes into the woods, and he’s gone for a long time and the girlfriend starts to worry, so – fuming of course – she gets out of the car and goes to look for him. She finds him standing in a clearing, his jeans soaked from where he’s just pissed himself. He doesn’t say a word to her, just points at something near a tree…’

Sheila doesn’t like where this is going. The Forrester had bound his victims to trees with cable ties. The first two he just left there to die. 

* * *

The second one is from the first draft of MORNING AFTER

The phone rang in her hand.

Well, rang is the wrong word. The theme from Ghostbusters started up and the collection of suited customers in the coffee bar all swivelled round to look at her. She rolled her eyes and checked the caller display. Withheld.

She didn’t answer withheld numbers. Not in this line of work. 

* * *

You can let me know what you think, if you want… 🙂

I’m now passing the baton to the following 7 (and I just hope they haven’t ALL been tagged already!)

@jessicamaybury
@purplequeennl
@seanferrick
@novicenovelist
@helenmackinven
@gailawler
@nembow
* * *

Disclaimer: you don’t have to do this if you don’t want to. It’s not like a chain that will bring you 7 years of bad luck or anything 😉

4 thoughts on “The Lucky 7

  1. Hi Susi,

    oooo The Forrester sounds so evil and crazy and those kids are just standing there . . . what happens next.

    And I’ve never heard of Withheld numbers (blocked over here) but I like the sound of Withheld much better.

    And breaking this chain does bring something unknown into a possible future . . . I’m sure of it LOL

  2. Hi Justin – thanks for commenting!

    Well, The Forrester is actually from the protagonist, DCI Sheila Reid’s backstory – she’s being briefed on an unusual case here by her DCI and he thinks there might be parallels… a body has been found in the woods by a young couple who stopped off so he could go for a pee (men, pah!) and they find this body… except the body is not yet dead when they get there… (cue suspensful music… da da daaaaah!)

    As for withheld vs blocked, we usually call them withheld if the person chooses not to display their number. It comes up as ‘unknown’ or ‘private’ usually. We’d normally say blocked if it was the other way round, like I could block your number so you can’t phone me… heheh 🙂 But you’d withhold your number so I wouldn’t know it was you and pick up 🙂 I tend not to answer withheld numbers as they are usually spam or recruitment agents and the like. The character in this excerpt doesn’t answer because she’s a private investigator (her name is currently Laura, but this may change!) and also she’s got a lot of secrets and might not want to be found by the wrong person… (cue more suspensful music…)

    As for breaking the chain, I agree, badness will come – especially on Friday 13th!!! Lol

    Susi x

  3. Oooh, I’m intrigued by both. The first looks like it comes from a Detective story, but the second? I’m not sure. Written through the eyes of an assassinator maybe? Very interesting, all the same, and I want to read more. Well done, you.

Leave a Comment

