Once Upon A Time… there was an anthology #ouatwriting

Yup, you read it right… but I’ve kind of given it away now, haven’t I? 😉

So, some of you who follow my ramblings on twitter may have picked up on the fact that I have been working on a TOP SECRET PROJECT… and maybe if you’re one of those detective-types, you might have guessed that it has something to do with the Once Upon A Time writing competition that Anna and I have been working on… well, you’d be right!

It became apparent  as the entries began to come in that we were getting some seriously good stuff. Then we got more. And more. AND MORE. But there can only be 3 winners… 3 out of 88 is practically impossible. Seriously, the standard of entries was extremely high. We had lots of new takes on the old classics, we had modern adaptations, we had some very original new fairytales, we had an instruction manual, we even had a rhyme. I can’t speak for Anna, but in my humble opinion, there was not one bad apple in the whole box – yes, I had some strong favourites, and these were not necessarily the same as Anna’s – which is what made collaborating on this such a great experience for me. I really enjoyed reading all the stories and I love the way that everyone has been enthusiastically reading and commenting on each others’ – culminating in the FanFav mini-comp and the resultant fame of our lovely winner, Cory Eadson.

SO, without further ado – I announce the ‘Once Upon A Time’ anthology, which will contain all the stories from the competition, plus mine and Anna’s.

The collection will be available in both eBook and REAL PAPER format and I will post the details when available. It will be ready soon after National Flash Fiction Day on 16th May (when the WINNERS will also be announced).

Now for the technical bit: I am still working on the running order of the stories, and I need a couple of things from you…

(1) Copyright remains with the individual authors, but you need to tell me if you DON’T want your story published in the book.

(2) Some of you didn’t give your story a title, and some of you don’t have a full name on there – I need titles and names, folks. Also, if you don’t have a blog, you need to confirm that you are happy for your twitter name to be added into the ‘bio’ section (essential this is a list of blog addresses – there is no space for anything more than that)

I will be sending an email to everyone soon with more details of what I need from you…

…and that’s it for now… hopefully I have now brightened your day 😉

Questions, comments etc – you know where to find me!

25 thoughts on “Once Upon A Time… there was an anthology #ouatwriting

  1. Good heavens!! This is sooooo much better than a dragon kite!! I should have know the two of you would pull something amazing out of your magic hat!! Yay!! Thank you!! Squeeeeeeeeee …

  2. Holy cow! This is AMAZING! What an honor to be included in something so special, and alongside so many talented people! Freaking awesome!!!

    You guys are so amazing!

  3. My goodness – this is a wonderful and generous surprise! You have certainly been busy! Thank you so much for all the time and energy you and Anna have put into this lovely contest.

  4. Oh my goodness…. my lil story in print! That’s excellent! Thank you so much for that, both of you. 🙂 Not so sure about that silly title for my story now, but against my daughters advise, I think I’ll just leave it as is. X

  5. Ooooooo squeeeeeeeeeeeee … I just KNEW we wuz all good – thank you so much. *Jumps around and wants to dance with all the other writers*

    Oh yes please, do include and my blog is
    http://cameron-writes.blogspot.fr/

    thank you both so much for all the work you’ve put in on this … and are continuing to put in. Magic ladies!

  6. Wow, I think it’s just sinking in *sniff* :’-) I’m truly overwhelmed. Thank you so much for everything. It’s been the most fun & friendly competition x

  7. You certainly brightened mine ~ and the two of my students who also managed to make it into the 88! I had the BEST FUN calling them up and telling them to go check Twitter and your blog for the official announcement! Thanks so much for doing this!!!!!

  8. This is amazing! Thanks very much to both of you. It has been such a great experience. It really has made me even more determined and motivated to keep on writing.

  9. Again echoing others, such great stories and so many talented writers! It’ll be great to have them all together in a book! Brilliant news!

  10. Totally cool idea! And there were some AMAZING stories, so I’m delighted you are capturing them for posterity. 🙂

  11. Oh my goodness! This is so great and I’m so delighted you thought of it! Woo hoo! There were a ton of great stories (I’m STILL reading through them…!) and it’s an honor to be among such excellent pieces—and to be included in an anthology. You sneaky lady you! 🙂

  12. I am delighted to have caused such mass hysteria and delight – this is something I really wanted to do and I am so glad I have so many talented writers to include – THANK YOU x

  13. Erm… I disappear for a while and THIS is what you do to me?!?! Holy freakin’ sh*t, Miss Susi. Amazing stuff. Thanks for “nagging” me to do it 😉

  14. This is so exciting…….a massive thank you from me as well! Thrilled to be involved, and CAN’T WAIT to see the finished anthology.

  15. Hey Susi! I’ve been trying to respond to your emails RE my info for the anthology, but apparently none of my responses have gotten through. I just wanted to let you know that the title for my story is “Dragon Tale,” and my URL is http://amandamccrina.com. Thanks!

Leave a Comment

