It's all about the chemistry…

Mel Sherratt

‘Tis the Eve of St Valentine… and some of you will be anxiously anticipating the delivery of a sackload of heart-spattered cards. The rest of you… well, the rest of you will already be on the gin, preparing for another morning of sobbing into your cornflakes, wailing “Why does no one love me?” 

So what better reason for a post about some easy-on-the-eye, smouldering hot couples from the small screen? Mel Sherratt, author of ‘sexy crime’ and lover of killer heels gives us a peek at the partners-in-crime who get her hot under the collar…

♥ ♥ 

One of the emails I received about my crime thriller, Taunting the Dead, talked about ‘that kiss’ and the sexual tension that came off the pages. Now, as much as I’d like to take the credit for that, I can’t – because maybe that was read between the lines and each reader takes away something different. Some readers have embraced it, some have said ‘well, did she or didn’t she?’ Others have said it was too unrealistic. Me, I’m a romantic at heart but I’m not going to tell you what I think…

With Valentine’s Day approaching, I thought I’d chat about some crime duos that either had me shouting at the television just kiss! – or going gooey eyed when they were together.

David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson (Mulder & Scully)

THE X FILES

Okay, technically not crime but there was lots of mystery… Through their love of the weird and wonderful and Mulder’s belief in aliens and the paranormal, and Scully there to scientifically prove him wrong, they developed a friendship that became a romance by the end of the final series. The program started in September 1993 and ran until May 2002, spanning nine seasons and 202 episodes. Don’t know about you but I think that’s a mighty long time to fall in love!

John Simm and Liz White (Tyler & Cartwright)

LIFE ON MARS

Now I had a love-hate relationship with this series at first because I couldn’t stand Gene Hunt and his put downs – sexist? Not at all! And then as everyone started to rave about it, I decided to give it a go, realised it for what it was, the 1970’s, and well, now it’s true love for me. Isn’t that what great writing is all about? Me and Gene – who would have thought!

But Sam Tyler, played by the gorgeous John Simm, stole my heart just that little bit more than DCI Hunt (humour me, this is a post about love and John Simm is gorgeous.) Sadly, he only had eyes for PC Annie Cartwright (played by Liz White). I ‘heart’ those two, just knew they were destined to get together. I mean how could anyone not love the flowery dresses that Annie wore… I know, I know – I must have worn something similar in my day!

Bruce Willis and Cybil Shepherd (David & Maddie)

MOONLIGHTING

Ah, David and Maddie; it brings back such fond memories just typing out their names. The series revolved around a bankrupt model and a failing detective agency – Maddie is coerced by David to go into partnership with him and the agency is renamed Blue Moon Investigations. The show oozed sexual tension with a mystery to solve amongst the double entrendre, and kept viewers entertained for years with the ‘will they, won’t they’ debate. I can feel my heart melting already – anyone for a BRING BACK DAVID AND MADDIE! Campaign?

Emily Deschanel and David Boreanaz (Brennan & Booth)

BONES

Dr. Temperance ‘Bones’ Brennan – witty one, she is, and brings a bit of humour to the show. As a forensic anthropologist, she helps alongside FBI Special Agent Seeley Booth (A.K.A The Yum Factor.)  He gave her the nickname (Argh, I was going to write The Lovely Bones, but that’s a whole new book and film entirely) Bones, which she hates at first but comes to accept. You see, love-hate? Bless. And low and behold, finally they start getting it on near to the end of season six, and in season seven, they live together with their daughter. True love – a happy ending.

Now, being a crime writer, I ‘love’ an added twist. Wikipedia informs me ‘Created by Hart Hanson, the series is very loosely based on the life and writings of novelist and forensic anthropologist Kathy Reichs, who also produces the show. Its title character, Temperance Brennan, is named after the protagonist of Reichs’ crime novel series. Conversely, Dr. Brennan writes successful mystery novels based around a fictional (in the Bones universe) forensic anthropologist named Kathy Reichs.’

I’m sure there are lots more, but that’s enough love from me 🙂

What do you think?

♥ ♥ 

Thanks Mel – a great post and a perfect excuse for me to add some hot pics!

I’ve got one more of my own to add. One that I’m sure Mel will agree with…

Idris Elba and Ruth Wilson (Luther & Alice)

LUTHER

The delicious DCI John Luther and the enigmatic psychopath, Alice Morgan… these two are smokin’ hot. Can’t wait for the next series!

Who are your favourite sexy crime couples? Feel free to let us know in the comments below…

♥ ♥ 

About Mel

Born and raised in Stoke on Trent, Staffordshire, Mel used her beloved city as a backdrop for her first novel, Taunting the Dead, and it went on to be a Kindle #1 best seller in three different categories and #3 in the overall charts. It is also in the top 100 kindle best selling books of 2012. Mel’s new series of psychological suspense, The Estate, is set in the fictional place of Stockleigh because she believes that the Mitchell Estate can be found a few miles from anywhere in any town or city…

Mel is represented by Madeleine Milburn Literary Agency. You can find out more at melsherratt.co.uk on twitter as @writermels and on Facebook.

 

3 thoughts on “It's all about the chemistry…

  1. My current favorite are Nathan Fillion and Stana Katic who play Rick Castle and Kate Beckett on Castle. The chemistry between the two and the witty banter provided by great writers, makes this much-watch-tv for my misses and me.

  2. Great post.
    If I could add another couple to the mix it would have to be Tony Hill and Carol Jordan from Val McDermid’s novels and the Wire in the Blood TV show.
    A real ‘will they, won’t they’ relationship at various stages throughout the series, not to mention that nagging question of ‘can he’?

Leave a Comment

