What’s in a date?

Screen Shot 2015-01-26 at 15.16.39I wasn’t sure of the best way to follow on from my previous post. It was a tough one to write, but I’m glad that I did. My mother-in-law passed away peacefully on 17th January – as my husband pointed out – “a date that previously held no significance… until now”. One that will be etched in our memories forever. Along with 9th February – the date of the funeral.

The older you get, the more significant dates you accrue. When you’re a child, it’s all about 25th December, your birthday and the days that the school term starts and ends.

When you’re a teenager, it’s the date of the first kiss, the first date, the first gig, the date your exam results thump onto the doormat, filling you with excitement and dread.

When you pass those heady days, it’s on to adulthood – where you add dates of starting work, wedding anniversaries, children’s birthdays, and, if you’ve been lucky up until then, anniversaries of friends and family who have sadly passed on. Once you get to a certain age, it seems like these dates increase with an inevitable frequency.

As time passes, you somehow learn to cope.

I’ve got a lot of significant dates coming up this year. The date that my first novel is released, the date of my first ever book festival as an author, my mum’s 60th birthday, some long awaited holidays, a friend’s wedding, the date we move into our new flat. All good things to look forward to. Things to be excited about. Things to remind me that life is for living, every single day.

And that’s what I intend to do 🙂

Starting with my next post, where I hope to share lots of book related news!

6 thoughts on “What’s in a date?

  1. I’m so sorry to hear your sad news. I know exactly what you mean about significant dates – I’ve had two of them this month. Even though my dad passed away 28 years ago and my first husband eighteen years ago, it still hits me hard. Sending love and best wishes to you and your family. x

  2. So very sorry to hear your sad news and will be thinking of you on the 9th in particular.

    But, you’re right life is for living and I think we’re all guilty of putting things off. It’s times like this that make us take stock and re-evaluate.

    I’ll look forward to hearing all the positive news going forward 🙂

    Dawn x

  3. Your lines about the increasing frequency of people passing away as you get older are very moving. Our neighbour is in her late eighties and once told us she was attending a funeral every week. However she puts a positive spin on this by remembering that it means she’s made lots of friends throughout her life.
    Best wishes for your exciting times ahead this year and beyond x

    • That’s a great way of looking at it! I also have the theory that when you are old, funerals are a way to catch up with people, especially if you don’t have a lot of family or friends around day to day. Sounds morbid, but funerals can be quite social events x

Leave a Comment

