SUBSTITUTE

Three people live. Three people die. You make the choice.

Like any mother, Chrissie wants to protect her family. She would do anything to keep them safe. So when a mysterious stranger turns up at her door, offering to prevent the deaths of the people she loves, it sounds too good to be true. The only problem: she must choose someone to die in their place. A substitute.

When her daughter Holly has a terrible accident, Chrissie has no option but to enter the programme. In that horrifying moment, she would do anything to save her. But even after Holly makes a miraculous recovery, Chrissie is convinced it’s just a coincidence. After all, who can really control the laws of life and death?

But as the dangers to her family escalate and her chosen substitutes begin to disappear, Chrissie finds herself in an underworld of hidden laboratories and secretive doctors. And the consequences of playing by their rules are far deadlier than she ever imagined…

* * * * *

What people are saying about Substitute

“Its future-possible plot and richly drawn characters kept me hooked from start to finish. Easy to devour and hard to forget.” – John Marrs

“Loved it. Could you sentence someone to death to save a loved one? A thrilling speculative thriller for fans of Blake Crouch and John Marrs.” – Mark Edwards

“I always get excited when a new Susi Holliday book comes out and Substitute didn’t disappoint. A wild ride and a highly original story you won’t want to miss.” – CS Green

“Wowzers – Susi Holliday’s twisty-turny thriller Substitute is epic!! Mind-bending, pulse-pounding, techno thriller brilliance! Perfect for fans of John Marrs, JP Delaney & Blake Crouch.” – Steph Broadribb

“Susi Holliday knocks it out of the park with this book. It’s everything you want in a thriller – imaginative, credible and engaging; rocketing relentlessly towards a gut-wrenching conclusion as the stakes grow higher and higher… Brilliant.” – Louise Voss

“Absolutely loved it! Original and compelling, with a killer premise and gut-wrenching dilemmas. And I do love a rogue scientist.” – Roz Watkins

“A chilling and addictive tale of the price of good intentions, devastating choices and science gone wrong. Frankenstein meets The Chain in Susi’s most powerful thriller yet.” – Heleen Kist

“A twisty, brilliantly paced techno thriller with plenty of heart. Brilliant!!!” – Victoria Goldman

“A twisty, super creepy tale that kept me turning the pages well into the night – be careful what you wish for!” – Emma Haughton

“Deliciously disturbing, thought-provoking, and unforgettable. Everything I want in a thriller.” – Jo Jakeman

“If you’re looking for a pacy, smart and twisty plot, Substitute is an absolute must read. This is a book that feels terrifyingly real.” – Lisa Cutts

“You’d be mad to substitute Susi Holliday’s clever, complex & compelling thriller for anyone else’s: who lives and who dies?”  – Claire Seeber